Delimitation helps Telangana gain, while Andhra region loses 11 constituencies

HYDERABAD: A positive impact of the Delimitation Commission’s recommendations that is expected to come into force from the 2009 elections would be increase in number of Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe Assembly and Parliamentary constituencies in the State.

According to the 2001 census the State’s population was 7.62 crore based on which the 294 Assembly constituencies were divided. Accordingly, each constituency would have an average population of 2.56 lakh, which could be 10 per cent more or less.

As against 39 SC and 15 ST Assembly constituencies now, the number is expected to touch 48 and 19 respectively. In case of Parliament, SC constituencies would go up from six to seven and two to three in ST seats.

Among the 42 Lok Sabha constituencies, Tenali, Bhadrachalam, Miryalguda, Siddipet, Parvatipuram, Bobilli and Hanamkonda would cease to exist. Instead, Araku (ST), Vizianagaram, Mahabubabad (SC), Chevella, Malkajgiri, Bhongir and Zaheerabad would be created.

Notable MPs expected to be affected are Union Ministers -- S. Jaipal Reddy (Miryalaguda), D. Purandeswari (Bapatla) and Panabaka Lakshmi (Nellore-SC).

The Telangana region will gain once the delimitation comes into force, while the Andhra region loses considerable constituencies. The Assembly constituencies in Telangana will rise from 107 to 119, while those in Andhra comes down from 134 to 123. In Rayalaseema, they will be down from 53 to 52.

While 64 Assembly constituencies will cease to exist, the boundaries of close to 160 would change. Vizianagaram district loses three seats, while Ranga Reddy will gain eight new constituencies.

After the exercise, Bhadrachalam Assembly constituency, with close to three lakh voters, will be the biggest constituency. The smallest constituency will be Narsapur, in West Godavari.

Ministers K. Jana Reddy (Chalakurthy), J.Ramamohan Rao (Kadiam), N. Raghuveera Reddy (Madaksira), P.Sabitha Indra Reddy (Chevella), Md. Fareeduddin (Zaheerabad), P. Venkateswara Rao (Mudinepalli), S. Vijayarama Raju (Parvatipuram), G. Surya Rao (Allavaram), A. Ramanarayan Reddy (Rapur), J.Ratnakar Rao (Buggaram), J.Geeta Reddy (Gajwel), M. Mareppa (Alur), G. Aruna (Chandragiri), R. Damodar Reddy (Thungaturthy), M. Mukesh (Maharajgunj) and S.Chandrasekhar (Palair) will be affected, as their constituencies would go or be reserved.

Twenty Opposition legislators will lose their constituencies. They include CPI floor leader Chada Venkat Reddy (Indurthy), CPI (M) floor leader Nomula Narasimhaiah (Nakrekal), G. Kishan Reddy (Himayatnagar), E. Dayakar Rao (Wardhannapet), Devineni Uma Maheswara Rao (Nandigama) and Kala Venkat Rao (Vunukur).

Their constituencies will either be abolished or reserved.