P. Rameshwar Reddy, Pitla Krishna and Kumaraswamy are likely candidates

Party candidates told to take up door-to-door campaign from May 6

Opening of party campaign offices in all constituency headquarters soon

HYDERABAD: The Andhra Pradesh Congress Committee has tentatively finalised the name of senior party leader P. Rameshwar Reddy for Warangal Lok Sabha seat.

The APCC is also learnt to have cleared the names of Pitla Krishna for Secunderabad and senior leader Kumaraswamy for Medaram Assembly segments.

But, an official announcement on the three names would be made after the party’s central leadership gives its clearance, party sources said.

Chief Minister Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy, who reviewed the party’s preparedness for the bypoll with APCC president D. Srinivas on Monday evening, asked the candidates and the party cadre to take up door-to-door campaign from May 6.

This should be preceded by opening of the Congress’ election campaign offices in all constituency headquarters with facilities like telephone, fax as well as persons to man them on a round-the-clock basis.

Dr. Reddy wanted the candidates to complete at least two rounds of door-to-door campaign before the election and meet members of the women’s associations, water users associations and other bodies.

The campaign should focus on the developmental schemes launched by the Government like Jala Yagnam, waiver of farmers’ loans, Rs. 2 kilo rice and Rajiv Arogya Sri.

Show cause notice

Meanwhile, Mr. Srinivas asked Anantapur DCC president to issue show cause notices to Guntakal municipal chairman N. Ramalingappa, former chairman J. Ramanjaneyulu and others for anti-party activities.

Disciplinary action was contemplated against the municipal chairman and others for welcoming and accompanying Bellary district BJP president G. Janardhan Reddy.