Revenue Dept. has issued orders for the reorganisation

Decks have been cleared for carving out a special revenue division in East Godavari district with Ramachandrapuram as its headquarters.

The Revenue Department issued orders on Wednesday for reorganisation of the existing five divisions and creation of the new division.

Creation of a new revenue division with Ramachandrapuram was the long-pending demand from the people of the historic town and its surrounding villages, as it would ease them access to the revenue divisional headquarters. Being one of the biggest districts in size in the State, East Godavari has five revenue divisions with Kakinada, Peddapuram, Rampachodavaram, Amalapuram and Rajahmundry as their headquarters.

Going by the size of each division, it takes a lot of time for the people from the remote pockets to reach the divisional headquarters and get their works done with the government offices.

On the other hand, the revenue divisional offices too were suffering work pressure due to the size and population of the jurisdictions.

Gazette publication

State government Principal Secretary B.R. Meena on Wednesday issued orders for the reorganisation of the existing divisions and the creation of new division, along with a notification stating the proposed jurisdictions of all the six divisions.

The order urged the Commissioner of Printing, Stationery and Stores Purchase to publish the notification in the Andhra Pradesh Gazette on April 6.

It also asked the Collector, East Godavari, to publish the same in the district Gazette and invite objections and suggestions from the people likely to be affected by the decision.

As per the proposal, the Ramachandrapuram revenue division will have Anaparthi, Biccavolu, Rangampeta, Pedapudi, Ramachandrapuram, K. Gangavaram, Kajuluru, Mandapeta, Rayavaram, and Kapileswarapuram mandals. Similarly, the Kakinada revenue division will have Kakinada (urban), Kakinada (rural), Karapa, Pithapuram, Gollaprolu, U. Kothapalli, Samalkota, and Tallarevu mandals.

However, the demand for carving out a separate revenue division with Prattipadu as its headquarters for the convenience of the people of Tuni, Kotananduru, Rowthulapudi, and Sankhavaram areas is still pending with the government. People from these areas have their divisional headquarters at Peddapuram.

  • Ramachandrapuram to be the headquarters of the new revenue division

  • At present, East Godavari has five revenue divisions