Staff Reporter

Two candidates in fray

Returning officer reviews arrangements for the election

As many as 831 voters to exercise their franchise

VISAKHAPATNAM: Arrangements are in place for the conduct of the election to the Legislative Council from Visakhapatnam Local Authorities Constituency on Monday. Returning Officer for the election and VUDA Vice-Chairman V.N. Vishnu oversaw the arrangements.

Two candidates – D.V. Suryanarayana Raju of the Congress and M. Neelababu of the TDP – are in the fray for the election. Counting will be taken up at the AU Gymnasium on April 2.

Polling material was distributed to the election staff on Sunday, a day in advance, and they were sent to the polling stations by special vehicles. The polling will take place at 43 polling stations from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Altogether, 831 voters consisting of MPTC and ZPTC members, GVMC corporators, Bhimili and Anakapalle municipal councillors, MLCs, MLAs and MPs are expected to exercise their franchise.

Rural Development Commissioner Shantakumari is the Election Observer.