All the 34 Aadhaar card-issuing centres in the four municipalities of Bhongir, Nalgonda, Miryalaguda and Suryapet and Kodad town have been shut down since January 31 following a dispute over payments to the staff of the private agency, Infranics Ltd, Hyderabad, and the Civil Supplies Commissioner.

The agency, which has been entrusted with the task of issuing cards to only urban population has made available 1.7 lakh cards since September 2011, when the second phase of the card distribution commenced.

As many as 12 lakh Aadhaar cards were issued since the first phase was launched in February 2011.

A Civil Supplies department official told The Hindu that pensioners and students waiting for scholarships have been facing hardship on account of non-issue of Aadhaar cards, with officials insisting that the students have to either mention the card number or its enrolment number so as to becoming eligible for scholarships. However, there is relief for various categories of pensioners, who are yet to receive Aadhaar cards, have the option of producing either the smart card, or its enrolment number for receiving the December pension.