Attack took place during Naidu’s ‘Vastunna Mee Kosam’

The Varni police have arrested and sent to judicial remand 11 persons accused in the case of alleged attack on Telangana protagonists at Satyanarayanapuram under Varni gram panchayat during the ‘Vastunna Mee Kosam’ padayatra of TDP president N. Chandrababu Naidu on December 2.

The arrested persons are Chunduru Sreekanth, Ganta Nagendra Varaprasad, Yeleti Srinivas, Chirikoori Shivateja, Butta Subramaniam, Muthyala Satishkumar, Bangaram Lakshmikanth, G. Naveen, P. Sreenu, Kantipoodi Adipathi and Mutyala Vamsi. All of them hail from Satyanarayanapuram, predominantly a Andhra settlers’ village.

KCR plea

In response to TRS chief K. Chandrasekhar Rao’s critical remark made at the public meeting here on Monday night that the police did not arrest any accused involved in the case, Deputy SP, Bodhan, Mohammed Ghouse Moinuddin, stated that the police acted promptly and arrested the accused on December 6 itself.

Based on the complaint lodged by one Tegulla Raja Varaprasad on December 3, The police under Crime No: 205/2012 and Sections: 143; 448; 341; 323; 290; and 506 read with 149 of IPC had registered cases against them on December 3. Mr. Moinuddin said that further investigation to identify other accused in the case was on.

  • The accused have been sent to judicial custody

  • All of them hail from Satyanarayanapuram, a Andhra settlers’ village