A vibrant Medchal waits for a ‘change’

print   ·   T  T  

Land acquisition for ORR phase two, drinking water shortage and Jawaharnagar dump site are hot issues here

HYDERABAD: Vast open tracts, lush green fields, grape gardens and farm houses. On the fringe of the capital, Medchal and its environs used to present a sharp contrast to the urban chaos of the twin cities. The real estate boom had come and gone but the effects are still visible.

Yet, veer off the NH-7 that has been widened and smoothened, the bucolic nature of this once large constituency remains intact. It has once returned former Chief Minister M. Chenna Reddy in 1978 but it became more noted for choosing ex-Home Minister T. Devender Goud thrice successively till the last elections.

Many changes happened in the last five years. Most farms and grape gardens vanished and replaced with five star resorts, engineering colleges, scientific institutions because of the presence of Genome Valley and of course, real estate ventures ranging between the super luxury to the very basic apartments.

Mr. Goud too has changed. From being a virtual number two in Telugu Desam Party (TDP) to forming the Nava Telangana Party (NTP) to merging it into Chiranjeevi’s Praja Rajyam. The constituency contours too have changed significantly after delimitation with big chunks like Qutbullapur and Uppal becoming two separate Assembly segments.

It further lost parts of Malkajgiri which too now has an Assembly and Parliamentary constituencies.

Medchal with 3, 07,487 voters (Male – 1, 57,750; Female – 1, 49,737) now comprises of Shamirpet, Ghatkesar and parts of Keesara. Mr. Goud won the seat last time with a margin of over 25,000 votes over his nearest rival K. Surender Reddy of Telangana Rashtra Samiti (TRS).

Among the probables are: Congress – U. Narasimha Reddy, a PCC general secretary; S. Naveen Chander and S. Harivardhan Reddy, who had earlier lost from Parigi on TRS ticket. TDP – N. Prabhakar Goud, ZPTC member from Shamirpet; M. Sudhakar Reddy, party leader from Ghatkesar and Nanda Reddy from Medchal. TRS – S. Laxma Reddy, ex-district chief and M. Kamalakar Reddy, joint secretary. PRP – Jangaiah Yadav and BJP- N. Keshav Reddy.

Land acquisition for Outer Ring Road’s phase two, drinking water shortage in urban areas and Jawaharnagar dump site are some of the hot issues here.



Recent Article in ANDHRA PRADESH

Six clusters for imparting skills to students

Plan to develop 36 colleges into Centres of Excellence »