Special Correspondent

Stall proceedings in support of demands of agitating MPTCs

HYDERABAD: Eight Telugu Desam members other than Leader of Opposition Dadi Veerabhadra Rao were suspended from the Legislative Council on Monday for stalling the proceedings of the House in support of the demands of the agitating Mandal Parishad Territorial Constituency (MPTC) members. The TDP had earlier issued a notice for adjournment motion to discuss the demands of the MPTCs but the Chairman A. Chakrapani disallowed it.

Then the party members led by Mr. Veerabhadra Rao insisted on a statement by the Government.

Debate ruled out

Finance and Legislative Affairs Minister K. Rosaiah said there was no scope for debating the issue after the Chairman had disallowed the adjournment motion.

He said the Government would reply if the issue was raised under a different rule of the legislature.

The TDP members refused to relent in spite of the Chairman’s assurance to post the issue for debate on Tuesday.

They squatted in the well of the House, prompting Mr. Rosaiah to move the motion for their suspension for the day.