Sadasivapet, Siddipet and Medak municipalities occupy first three places in State

Three municipalities of Medak district have topped in tax collection.

These three municipalities are Sadasivapet, Siddipet and Medak.

While Sadasivapet municipality collected 99.1 per cent taxes, Siddipet followed with 98.77 per cent and Medak collected 98.64 per cent. The first three places in the State were occupied by these municipalities. Congratulating the Municipal Commissioners for achieving the task, Collector S. Suresh Kumar suggested others to follow them, in a meeting held on Monday evening.

While Zaheerabad Municipality stood with 91 per cent tax collection, the district head quarters Sangareddy has taken the last position with 78.5 per cent tax collection.

Expressing displeasure over increasing expenditures than the income being generated in the municipalities, the Collector directed the municipalities to reduce the expenditure.

Advertisement boards

Referring to the advertisement boards being erected in the municipalities, the Collector said that the authorities should collect taxes on them and they are free to remove the boards that have not yielded taxes.

K. Kumara Swamy, Municipal Commissioner, Sadasivapet, told The Hindu that they were able to collect maximum taxes by holding door to door canvassing, roping in four teams to do the specific job for about one month in addition to waiving of fine imposed earlier.

  • Sadasivapet municipality collects 99.1 per cent taxes, Siddipet follows with 98.77 per cent
  • Medak collects 98.64 per cent while Sangareddy takes last position with 78.5 per cent collection