Around 150 shuttlers, including those who made a mark at the international level, will be seen in action at Chirala’s district sports authority indoor stadium as the Prakasam District Badminton Association will be hosting the 68th South Zone Badminton championship from September 2 to 4.

Star shuttlers from Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Karnakata, Puducherry and Kerala including Sanave Thomas, Arun George (Kerala), Anup Sridhar, K. Srikanth, Ajay Jayaram (Karnataka), G. Ruthvika Shivani, K. Maneesha, J. Meghana, J. B. S. Vidyasagar and B. Venkatesh would vie for honours, Andhra Pradesh Badminton Association Secretary K. Ch. Punnaiah Choudary told reporters at Ongole on Saturday.

The tournament would be conducted for Rahimtulla Cup (men), Chadha Cup (women), Narang Cup (boys) and Shafi Quresh Cup (girls), said Mr. Choudary, who is also Badminton Association of India secretary (events).

Andhra Pradesh Minor Irrigation Minister and APBA President T. G. Venkatesh would inaugurate the tournament and Congress MLA Amanchi Krishnamohan would preside over the inauguration, Tournament Organising committee Secretary and PDBA President Ch. Raghu Kiran said.

Ace Badminton stars Pullela Gopichand and U. Vimal Kumar would grace the occasion, Tournament Reception Committee Chairman B. Hemanth Kumar said.