HYDERABAD: Nobel laureate Amartya Sen, agricultural scientist M.S. Swaminathan, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) director-general R.A. Mashelkar and nuclear scientist P.K. Iyengar on Tuesday received the Indian Science Congress Association (ISCA) awards for this year.

Prof. Sen, Prof. Swaminathan and Swiss Nobel Prize for Chemistry winner Richard R. Ernst won the 93rd ISC general president's Science Excellence Awards while Dr. Mashelkar and Prof. Iyengar won the Asutosh Mookherjee Memorial Award and the Homi J. Bhabha Memorial Award respectively.

Tata Energy Research Institute director Dr. R.K. Pachuari won the Jawaharlal Nehru Birth Centenary Award.

Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh presented the awards at the inaugural session of the 93rd Indian Science Congress here. - UNI