Anita Joshua

NEW DELHI: A collection of poems in Malayalam, Ayyappa Panikerude Kritikal, has won the Saraswati Samman 2005. With this, K. Ayyappa Paniker joins the league of Harivansh Rai Bachchan, Vijay Tendulkar, Balamani Amma, Indra Parthasarathy, Mahesh Elkunchwar and Sunil Gangopadhyay. It was picked by a 13-member Chayan Parishad from works in 22 languages published between 1995 and 2004. According to the K. K. Birla Foundation, it was considered as a "cross-section of modern and post-modern trends in Malayalam poetry, and Prof. Paniker appears here as a trendsetter of Malayalam as well as Indian poetry."