Neena Vyas

NEW DELHI: Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi had his way with the Bharatiya Janata Party’s Central Election Committee, which on Tuesday denied ticket to 6 sitting MPs in the State.

Many of them were dissidents and had raised the banner of revolt against Mr. Modi during the last Assembly elections.

Those denied ticket were P.S. Gadhavi (Kutch), now a reserved seat for which Punamben Jat has been given the ticket. Somabhai Patel’s seat, Surendranagar, has been given to Laljibhai Mer; Kanshiram Rana’s Surat seat has been given to Darshnaben Jardosh; the Rajkot seat represented by Vallabhai Kathiria will now be contested by Kiranbhai Patel; Harilal Patel’s Porbandar constituency will now be fought by Mansukh Khacharia; and for the Vadodara constituency represented by Jayaben Thakkar, the candidate selected is Balubhai Shuki.

Two sitting MPs who have been given ticket in the list of 21 candidates declared by the Central Election Committee are Harin Pathak, who held the Ahmedabad constituency and has been given the ticket for Ahmedabad East, and Mansukhbhai Vasava, who will again contest the Bharuch seat. And of course, L.K. Advani’s candidature for Gandhinagar was announced months ago.

With just four seats pending, the party has declared 22 candidates, including three sitting MPs as against 14 seats won by the party in 2004.

Despite the absence of general secretary Arun Jaitley, who is in charge of the elections in the State, the party CEC declared 12 candidates, including sitting MP Shahnawaz Hussain for Bhagalpur and Rajeev Pratap Rudy for Saran, a constituency expected to be contested by Rashtriya Janata Dal chief Lalu Prasad. From Madhubani the party has fielded Hukumdev Narayan Yadav; former film star Shatrughan Sinha from Patna Sahib and sitting MPs Lalmuni Choubey from Buxar and Nikhil Choudhary from Katihar.

Four candidates were cleared from Karnataka: K.H. Hanume Gowda (Hassan); Janardhana Swamy (Chitradurga-SC); P.C. Mohan (Bangalore Central); and D.S. Veeraiah (Kolar-SC).

Among the big leaders, Gopinath Munde will contest from the Beed constituency in Maharashtra; Ram Naik from Mumbai North; Banwarilal Purohit from Nagpur and Sanjay Dhotre from Akola. A total of 11 candidates were declared from Maharashtra.

Two seats were finalised from Uttar Pradesh: Ram Naresh Rawat (Barabanki-SC) and Prabhu Nath Choudhary (Ghazipur). Four seats from Rajasthan: Kiran Yadav (Alwar); Devji Choudhary (Jalore); sitting MP Srichand Kripalani (Chittorgarh) and Rasa Singh Rawat, who has been moved from the Ajmer seat to Rajsamund.

The party also declared 7 candidates from Andhra Pradesh and six from Madhya Pradesh. The M.P. candidates are: Laxmi Narayan Pandey (Mandsaur); Mukam Singh Kirade (Dhar-ST); Jyoti Dhurve (Betul-ST); K.D. Deshmukh (Balaghat); Narendra Mravi (Shahdol-ST). and Chadramani Tripathi (Rewa). A total of 67 Lok Sabha candidates were finalised by the BJP on Tuesday.