Special Correspondent

NEW DELHI: The Election Commission has announced by-elections to fill up 13 vacancies in Rajya Sabha from 10 States due to resignation of members following their election to Lok Sabha or other reasons. The poll will be held on August 10 between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. and counting will be at 5 p.m. on the same day.

The poll will be held for one seat each in Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Orissa, National Capital Territory of Delhi, Rajasthan, Jammu and Kashmir, Haryana and Uttar Pradesh, two seats in Madhya Pradesh and three in Maharashtra.

For the lone Rajya Sabha seat from Puducherry, the Commission decided not to fill up the vacancy now.