Swaraj elected secretary at State meet

T.V. Rajesh, MLA, has been elected president and M. Swaraj secretary of the State unit of the Democratic Youth Federation of India (DYFI) at its State conference which concluded here on Thursday.

Announcing this at a press conference here on Thursday, DYFI president M.B. Rajesh, MP, said that an 81-member State committee had been constituted. The newly-elected president was the secretary and Mr. Swaraj the president of the DYFI State unit. Mr. Swaraj said the conference discussed 26 resolutions, including detailed probe into IPL spot fixing charges, the UDF government deliberately hunting down political opponents using the police, the government’s lax attitude towards infant deaths at Attappady, and proper compensation to endosulfan victims.

The resolutions included strong protests against privatisation of drinking water, demand for implementing Madhav Gadgil report after correcting deficiencies, and awareness on organ donation. A significant development of this State meet was the organ donation campaign in which 25,000 persons agreed to donate their organs, Mr. Swaraj said.

Asked about the non-replacement of the incumbent president and secretary, Mr. Swaraj said the selection of office-bearers was an arrangement to conduct organisational works and nothing more. The age limit for various tiers of the organisation are 35 years for block-level and area membership, 37 for district-level, and 40 for State-level.

He said that 40 members out of the 81 members elected to the State committee were new faces. Though the number of women office-bearers was only three, the same as last time, the organisation would from now on stick to the condition that the secretary or president of the DYFI unit, the lower structure, would be a woman, Mr. Swaraj said.

The other office-bearers are: T.V. Anitha, P.P. Divya, K. Rajesh, P. Biju, and Roshan Roy Mathew (vice-presidents); P.A. Muhammed Riyaz, A.N. Shamsheer, C. Sumesh, G. Muraleedharan, and V.P. Rajeena (joint secretary). K.S. Sunilkumar is the treasurer. A 25-member State secretariat has also been constituted.