Vinay Kumar

NEW DELHI: Parliament on Tuesday approved extension of President’s Rule in Karnataka for six months beyond May 20.

Home Minister Shivraj Patil, who moved a statutory resolution in this regard in both Houses of Parliament, said the extension of the President’s Rule had become necessary as the three-phase Assembly poll process could not be completed before May 19 — the day the Central rule expires.

Karnataka was brought under President’s Rule on November 20 last year following political instability and the Election Commission has announced polling on May 10, May 16 and May 22. While counting of votes is slated for May 25, the election process will end on May 28.