Candidates of three registered but unrecognised political parties in Karnataka — AIADMK, Janata Dal (United) and BSR Congress Party — will have to contest in the March 7 elections to the urban local bodies (ULBs) without using the symbols of their respective parties.

The Karnataka High Court on Thursday refused to grant interim direction to the State Election Commission (SEC) to grant “ceiling fan” symbol to all the candidates contesting from the former Minister B. Sriramulu’s BSR Congress Party.

In his petition, Mr. Sriramulu had questioned the denial of “ceiling fan” symbol to his party’s candidate by the returning officers during the process of allotment of symbol to the candidates of political parties and independent candidates on Wednesday.

It was contended on behalf of the SEC that these parties cannot be granted symbol of their party as election symbol as these parties are not recognised in the State as per the rules.

Following this, Justice A.S. Bopanna refused to grant interim order to BSR Congress Party seeking allotment of the party’s symbol to its candidates and inclusion of the party’s name in the EVMs. However, candidates can use party name. The court also rejected interim pleas of AIADMK, which had questioned the SEC’s decision rejecting the plea for allotment of the party’s symbol claiming that the party was both registered and recognised in Tamil Nadu. The JD (U) made a similar plea but in vain.

  • The SEC counsel argued that that unrecognised political parties cannot be granted symbol of their party as election symbol

  • The SEC said such candidates will have to be treated as independent ones and that they were allotted with the symbols as per the rules