Manohar Parrikar's government, formed by an alliance of the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party, will be sworn in at 5 p.m. on Friday on the Campal grounds here by Goa Governor K. Sankaranarayanan.

Sources in the BJP here said that in the first phase only 6 or 7 Ministers will be inducted, including representatives of the three-member MGP. The alliance comprises 26 MLAs — 21 of the BJP, 3 of the MGP and two Independents — in the 40-member House.

Sources in the BJP said on Thursday that the next and final phase of expansion would take place after a brief session of the new Assembly in which new members-elect would be sworn in and elections for the posts of Speaker and Deputy Speaker would be held. The State has a cap of 12 for Cabinet.

Senior BJP national leaders L.K. Advani, party president Nitin Gadkari and Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha Sushma Swaraj, among others, will be present for the swearing-in of Mr. Parrikar, who will be Chief Minister for the third time.

Mr. Parrikar was elected from the Panaji constituency for the fifth consecutive term in this election held on March 3, in which the Congress-NCP (Nationalist Congress Party) alliance was decimated by the BJP-MGP alliance. The Congress won a mere nine seats, as against 20 in the outgoing Assembly, while the NCP, which had 3 MLAs in the 2007 elections, failed to get even one.