Special Correspondent

NEW DELHI: The chairman of the Hyderabad-based Deccan Chronicle, T. Venkattram Reddy, was elected president of the Indian Newspaper Society for 2009-10, at the 70th annual general meeting of the INS here on Thursday. He succeeds Hormusji N. Cama of the Bombay Samachar Weekly.

Kundan R.Vyas of Vyapar, Mumbai, would be deputy president; Ashish Bagga of India Today vice-president; Rakesh Sharma of Hindustan Times, Patna, honorary treasurer; and V. Shankaran officiating secretary-general, says an INS release.

Forty-one others from different newspapers and journals were elected executive committee members.