Prime Minister Manmohan Singh was re-elected to the Rajya Sabha from Assam for the fifth consecutive time. Another Congress nominee, Santiuse Kujur, also won the second Rajya Sabha seat from the State, polling for which took place in the Assembly here on Thursday.

Dr. Singh polled 49 first preference votes and Mr. Kujur 45 first preference votes. All India United Democratic Front nominee Aminul Islam polled 18 votes.

Nine legislators of the Asom Gana Parishad and five BJP MLAs in the 126-member House abstained from voting.