Rain hits polling for two M.P. seats

Patna: Barring boycott of poll at seven places, by-elections in seven Assembly constituencies in Bihar on Thursday passed off smoothly with an estimated 42 per cent turnout of voters.

According to Deputy Chief Electoral Officer Kumar Anshumali, Chainpur constituency recorded a voter turnout of around 51 per cent followed by 49 per cent in Ramgarh, 45 per cent in Kalyanpur, 44 per cent in Warisnagar and 40 per cent in Chanari. Naxal-hit Aurai recorded the lowest turnout of 31 per cent, he added.

He said boycott of poll was reported from three polling centres in Aurai and two each in Ramgarh and Chanari.

Additional Director General of Police (Headquarters) Neelmani said the by-polls remained violence-free with strong presence of State and Central forces.

Peaceful in M.P.

Bhopal: Nearly 55 per cent voters exercised their franchise in Gohad and Tendukheda Assembly by-polls in Madhya Pradesh. Heavy rains affected voting at some places.

“As per the reports reaching here nearly 50-55 per cent polling was recorded in Gohad reserve seat (in Bhind district) while 35-40 per cent voters turned out in Tendukheda (in Narsinghpur district),” the State’s Additional Chief Electoral Officer, Sanjay Dube said, adding that the polling was peaceful.

Due to heavy rains, polling in 41 booths in Tendukheda could not take place and the State Election Office will soon decide on new dates for polling in these areas.

The contest in both the seats is mainly between the Congress and the BJP. Congress has fielded Ranveer Singh Jatav from Gohad while BJP has banked upon Sobran Singh Jatav. In Tendukheda, Congress relied on Vishwanath Patel while BJP fielded Bhaiyaram Patel.

55 p.c. in Vikasnagar

Our Staff Correspondent writes from Dehra Dun:

Braving incessant rain, about 55 per cent of the electorate turned out to vote in the Uttarakhand Assembly by-election for the Vikasnagar seat on Thursday.

No untoward incident was reported, officials said. There are 13 candidates in the race to woo the 1.14 lakh strong electorate.

The contest mainly was between Nav Prabhat, a former State Minister fielded by the Congress, and Kuldeep Kumar of the Bharatiya Janata Party, with Munna Singh Chauhan, whose resignation as the BJP MLA led to this by-poll, trying his luck as an Independent this time round.

Winning this seat is a matter of prestige for both the ruling BJP and the opposition Congress in the State. The BJP, which witnessed a total rout in the parliamentary elections in the State, would like to prove that it did hold sway over the electorate as far as State politics is concerned while the Congress wants to continue its winning spree.