Special Correspondent

PATNA: All five official candidates, including Union Minister Prem Chandra Gupta, were elected to the Rajya Sabha from Bihar on Wednesday.

Besides Mr. Gupta, who won on a Rashtriya Janata Dal ticket, UPA’s second candidate Shabir Ali, belonging to the Lok Jan Shakti Party, also sailed through.

The NDA candidates — former Union Minister C.P. Thakur of the BJP, the JD(U)’s Shivanand Tiwari and N.K. Singh also won. Independent Govind Pandey could secure just one vote while the minimum required for election in the first round itself was 40 votes. Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav extended his support to the UPA but his directive was defied by two MLAs here.