Film industry to get more support: Chandy

Staff reporter
print   ·   T  T  

Malayalam cinema will move ahead and register many achievements to its credit with the support of the State government, Chief Minister Oommen Chandy has said.

He was addressing the State Film Awards-2010 function at Corporation Stadium here on Monday. It was organised by the Kerala State Chalachitra Academy.

“We have collectively decided to give more encouragement to the industry and it will be materialised under the leadership of Minister in charge of Cinema K.B. Ganesh Kumar,” he said.

Mr. Ganesh Kumar, who presided over the function, said the industry should see more innovation from new-generation directors and producers. They should be ready to take up challenges to achieve the desired result, he said.

The State government would move ahead with its plan to revive cinema theatres in the State, he said. “The Kairlai and Sree theatres functioning under the Kerala State Film Development Corporation in Kozhikode would be upgraded to international standards,” the Minister said.

Responding to a demand by M.K. Raghavan, MP, the Minister said he would take steps to host international film festivals in Kozhikode too.

Actors Surya and Dileep were the chief guests. Actor Salim Kumar received the best actor (male) award for his performance in Adaminte Makan Abu and Kavya Madhavan got the best actor (female) award for her performance in Gaddama .

Shyamaprasad received the award for the best director for his film Electra and Mohan Sharma for the best story ( Gramam ). Shahnath Jalal ( Chithrasoothram ) and M.J. Radhakrishnan ( Veettilekkulla Vazhi ) got the best cinematographer award.

Salim Ahammad, who directed Adaminte Makan Abu received the award for best scriptwriter. The award for lyrics went to Rafeek Ahammad (for the song Oru pooviniyum vitarum vaniyil in the film Sadgamaya ).

M. Jayachandran got the award for the best music director for the song Chitrasalabhame in Karayilekkoru Kadaldooram .

Isaac Thomas Kotukappalli won the award for background music for the films Sadgamaya and Adaminte Makan Abu .

Hariharan received the award for the best playback singer (male) for the song Pattupaduvan mathram in Pattinte Palazhi . Rajalakshmi got the best playback singer (female) award for the song Olichirunne onnicholichirunne in Janakan, and Balamuralikrishna got the award for the best classical singer for Iyar kai annaiyil in Gramam .

The award for the best debutant director went to Mohan Raghavan who directed the film T.D. Dasan, Standard VI-B .

His mother K.K. Ammini accepted the award on behalf of her late son. Film director Ranjit who got the award for combining artistic value and popular appeal in his film Pranchiyettan and the Saint had not turned up for the event expressing solidarity with Mullaperiyar campaigners.



Recent Article in NATIONAL


New comic to feature female Marvel & Thor

The much-awaited comic book. The All-New, All-Differen... »