The State government has ordered the constitution of Fast Track Mahila Courts in 22 districts.

Also, 10 additional Mahila Courts are to come up in 10 districts including Chennai, Madurai and Coimbatore.

The government made this commitment recently in the Assembly when it tabled the policy note of the Home, Prohibition and Excise Department (Administration of Justice). The policy note also said, “even though offences committed against women are comparatively less in the State, in order to enable the victim to get immediate justice, the government ordered constitution of Fast-Track Mahila Courts in the cadre of District Judge to deal exclusively with the cases relating to crimes against women in 22 districts.”

The government allocated Rs16.60crore for the constitution of these courts to be set up in Dharmapuri, Dindigul, Erode, Nagercoil, Karur,

Krishnagiri, Nagapattinam, Namakkal, The Nilgiris, Ramanathapuram, Sivagangai, Thanjavur, Theni, Thoothukudi, Tiruvallur, Tiruvannamalai, Tiruvarur, Vellore, Villupuram, Srivilliputhur, Ariyalur and Tiruppur.