The Communist Party of India (Marxist) has retained the Durgapur I Assembly seat in the by-election held on Monday. Its candidate Archana Bhattacharya defeated her closest rival — Congress' Banshi Badan Karmakar — by 8,817 votes. The result was announced on Thursday.

The by-election was necessitated by the death of Mrinal Banerjee. He had also been Minister of the Department for Power and Non-Conventional Energy.

In 2006, the CPI(M) had won the seat by a thumping 40,000-margin.

Though the Trinamool Congress had not put up any candidate, it had supported the Congress. The other two parties in the fray were the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Rashtriya Janata Dal.