All the five candidates — four of the Trinamool Congress and one of the Left Front — were elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha from West Bengal here on Thursday, shortly after the Congress withdrew its candidate from the contest.

“Abdul Mannan the Congress candidate withdrew his nomination during the day. This left five candidates for five Rajya Sabha seats in the State. They were elected uncontested,” said J. L. Chakraborty, Secretary to the West Bengal Assembly.

He said that Railway Minister Mukul Roy, Kunal Ghosh, Nadimul Haq and Vivek Gupta were the four Trinamool Congress candidates while Tapan Sen was elected as the Left Front candidate to Rajya Sabha.

Trinamool Congress secretary general Partha Chaterjee expressed his gratitude to Mr Mannan for withdrawing from the contest.