Special Correspondent

CHANDIGARH: The Congress announced its second list of 17 candidates for the Haryana Assembly elections late on Thursday night. The names of the remaining five candidates were being finalised by the party high command and would be announced any time. Friday is the last day for filing nomination papers.

The party had released its first list of 68 on Wednesday.

A quick perusal of the latest list indicates that the party has decided to field former Haryana Finance Minister Sampat Singh and former MLA Sushil Kumar Indora from Nalwa and Kalawati respectively. The two leaders had defected from the Indian National Lok Dal a few months ago along with several others.

Interestingly, former BJP MLA Ram Kumar Gautam, who had also joined the Congress a few months ago, has also been fielded from Narnaund. Former Minister Tajinder Pal Mann, who had contested the 2005 Assembly polls as an Independent from Pai, has now been fielded as the Congress nominee from Kalayat.

The detailed list is as follows:

Yamunanagar: Devender Chawla; Kalayat: Tajinder Pal Mann; Assandh: Ramesh Chaudhary; Israna: Balbir Singh Balmiki; Safidon: Ram Kishan Bairagi; Narwana: Ram Phal Lot; Ratia:Jarnail Singh; Kalanwali: Sushil Kumar Indora; Rania: Ranjit Singh; Ellenabad: Bharat Singh Beniwal; Narnaund: Ram Kumar Gautam; Hansi: Chhatar Pal Singh; Nalwa: Sampat Singh; Dadri: Nirpender Singh Sangwan; Narnaul: Sanjay Singh Yadav; Bawal: Shakuntala Bagwaria; Tigaon: Lalit Nagar.

BJP list

The Bharatiya Janata Party on Thursday announced 12 more candidates for the upcoming Haryana Assembly polls. It has so far fielded 87 candidates for the 90 Assembly seats.

Interestingly, the BJP replaced its candidate, Shamsher Singh, for the Julana constituency with Jawahar Saini without citing any reason. However, sources said Mr. Shamsher Singh had reportedly “refused” to contest on the plea that he “might lose”.

Meanwhile, Haryana Janhit Congress announced its remaining 33 candidates. Interestingly, former MLA Jasma Devi, wife of former Haryana Chief Minister Bhajan Lal, has been fielded from Nalwa while Congress rebels J. P. Gupta and Shashi Sharma have been fielded from the Karnal and Panchkula respectively.

Meanwhile, the Congress’ Haryana unit chief Phool Chand Mullana, Haryana Industries Minister L. D. Arora, former Minister Venod Sharma and former Chief Minister Om Parkash Chautala were prominent among the large number of candidates who filed their papers on the fifth day of filing of nominations.

The last date for filing nominations is Friday.