The Cabinet sub-committee constituted to finalise the new excise policy in place of existing policy held its first meeting here on Monday.

The committee comprising Anam Ramanarayana Reddy, C. Ramachandraiah, P. Sabitha Indra Reddy, Sridhar Babu and Mopidevi Venkataramana had a preliminary round of discussions on the shape of the new excise policy.

After the Anti-Corruption Bureau raids exposed the corruption and liquor syndicates' scam under the existing policy, the government decided to revise the existing excise policy that would lapse in June-end.

Speaking to media persons later, Excise Minister Mopidevi Venkataramana said that department officials had already visited Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Maharashtra to study their excise policies.

The officials had submitted their reports and based on them, the committee would study these reports before finalising the new State excise policy.

He said that the Government was not considering excise revenue as main source of income.

The committee would meet again on May 26.