Special Correspondent

NEW DELHI: The Bharatiya Janata Party here on Monday released the second list of its candidates for the Madhya Pradesh Assembly election. A large number of sitting MLAs — at least 14 — find themselves in a list of 38 who have been given the ticket.

With this the party has till now declared 153 candidates for the State Assembly poll with 115 declared here on Friday.

Kailash Vijayvargeeya, a Minister, will contest from Mau while Ujjain North and South seats will be fought by Paras Jain and Shivnarayan Jagirdar.

There are five seats in Indore. While a former MLA Gopikrishna Nema has been given the ticket for Indore 3, a sitting MLA Mahendra Hardiya is the declared candidate for Indore 5.

The district president of the BJP, Sudershan Gupta will contest Indore 1. The two other candidates in Indore are Ramesh Mendola (Indore 2) and Malini Gaur (Indore 4).

The BJP’s Central Election Committee met here on Monday morning where this list of candidates was finalised.

Corrections and Clarifications

The third paragraph of a report "BJP's second list of M.P. candidates"(November 4, 2008) said Kailash Vijayvargeeya, a Minister, will contest fromMau .." The constituency is Mhow (a contraction of Military Headquarters ofWar) and a cantonment area. Mau is a district in Uttar Pradesh. The SpecialCorrespondent also clarifies that the spelling mistake was made because theBJP's list was in Hindi and it was, phonetically, Mau. The DelimitationCommission volumes give the name of the constituency as Ambedkar Nagar,Mhow.