Gargi Parsai

NEW DELHI: The Janata Dal (United) and the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) on Tuesday failed to reach an understanding on seat sharing in Madhya Pradesh.

BJP President Rajnath Singh met JD (U) President Sharad Yadav at the latter’s residence here on Tuesday but no understanding could be reached on a pre-poll alliance between the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) partners.

JD(U) to go alone

Mr.Yadav told The Hindu that the JD (U) would go it alone in all States except in Rajasthan for which talks were on. Sources said it was likely that the NDA allies may reach an understanding on five to six seats in Rajasthan.

JD (U) on Tuesday released its third list of candidates for the 230-assembly Madhya Pradesh polls. With this, the party has declared the candidature of about 51 candidates in the State.

The party’s lone MLA, Saroj Bachan Nayak from Badwara (Katni district) has been accommodated from Boriband seat in the same district as the former seat has become reserved after de-limitation of constituencies.

The Badwara (reserved) seat has now gone to Avadh Raj Singh.

In the third M.P. list, former MLA Subhedar Singh will contest from Jaura in Morena district.

Women candidates

Two women candidates, Shanti Devi and Radha Jauhariya will contest from Anoop-pur (reserved) and Sonkuch (Dewas) respectively. Tribal leader Hiralal Panche is the party’s candidate from Laanji in Balaghat district.

The party will contest between 60 to 70 seats in Madhya Pradesh.