Special Correspondent

Council of Scientific and Industrial Research names 13 scientists

NEW DELHI: The Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) has announced the winners of its Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for 2006.

The 13 scientists include Virender Singh Sangwan of L.V. Prasad Eye Institute, Hyderabad (Medical Sciences); Srinivasan Sampath of the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore; K. George Thomas of the Regional Research Laboratory, Thiruvananthapuram; Vikraman Balaji of Chennai Mathematical Institute, Siruseri, and Indranil Biswas of the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai (Mathematical Sciences.)

The other winners are: Vinod Bhakuni, Central Drug Research Institute, Lucknow; Rajesh Sudhir Gokhale, National Institute of Immunology, New Delhi (Biological Sciences); Gufran-ullah Beig, Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology, Pune; Pulak Sengupta, Jadavpur University, Kolkata (Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean & Planetary Sciences); Atish Dabholkar, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, Sanjay Puri, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi (Physical Sciences); Ashish Lele, National Chemical Laboratory, Pune, and Sanjay Mittal, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur (Engineering Sciences.)

A CSIR spokesperson said Prime Minister Manmohan Singh would distribute the prize. The date for the award function would be announced soon.

The prize is given to scientists for their outstanding contributions made primarily in India in the five years preceding the year of the prize. Those not more than 45 years of age, as reckoned on December 31 of the year preceding the year of the prize, are eligible. The prize comprises a citation, a plaque and a cash of Rs. 2 lakh.