Collector M. Ravikumar presented Nirmal Puraskar cash award and shield to the presidents of five village panchayats on Saturday. The award was for the year 2011.

The award was presented to Thevanur panchayat in Andimadam panchayat union; Athichanur, Kodalikaruppur, and Kodangudi in T. Pazhu panchayat union; and Thuthur panchayat in Tirumanoor union. The award carries a cheque for Rs. 2 lakh and a shield. The presidents - Selvaraj (Thevanur), Anitha (Athichanur), Krishnamoorthy (Kodalikaruppur), Baskar (Kodangudi), and Selvakumari (Thuthur) - received the award from the Collector. Mr. Ravikumar urged the presidents of other panchayats to work hard for getting this coveted award. Samuel Inbathurai, project director, Mahalir Thittam, was present.

— Special Correspondent