Special Correspondent

NEW DELHI: Assembly byelections to 20 seats in six States and the National Capital Territory of Delhi passed off smoothly on Thursday without any major incident, including in the naxal-affected areas of Bihar.

In the Dwarka constituency in the National Capital Territory of Delhi, despite showers from the morning about 46.5 per cent of the electorate had voted, according to Deputy Election Commissioner Alok Shukla.

Notice issued

The Election Commission issued notice to the Bhind District Magistrate and the Superintendent of Police for “acting in a partisan manner and violating various instructions of the Commission” when poll in the Gohad constituency (Madhya Pradesh) was held.

They were asked to give their explanation by 10 a.m. on Friday.

Hit by floods

Polling could not be held in 41 stations under the Tendukheda constituency in Madhya Pradesh and four stations in Chainpur in Bihar as the polling personnel could not reach the spot due to heavy rains and floods.

The Commission would decide on re-poll in those booths.

Elections were held in: Andhra Pradesh – Tekkali; Bihar — Bochaha (SC), Aurai, Kalyanpur, Warisnagar (SC), Ramgarh, Chainpur and Chenari (SC); Gujarat – Chotila, Jasdan, Dhoraji, Kodinar, Dehgam, Sami and Danta; Madhya Pradesh – Gohad and Tendukheda; Sikkim – Namchi Singithong; Uttarakhand – Vikasnagar and National Capital Territory of Delhi – Dwarka.