J. Balaji

NEW DELHI: The Election Commission on Thursday announced that Assembly by-elections for 13 constituencies in five States – Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka and Meghalaya — would be held on August 18.

The model code of conduct has come into force with immediate effect and is applicable in the district(s) in which the whole or any part of the constituencies is included.

The code is applicable to all the candidates, political parties, the State governments and the Centre.

The constituencies going to the polls are: Ilayangudi, Thondamuthur, Cumbum, Bargur and Srivaikuntam (Tamil Nadu); Bow Bazar and Sealdah (West Bengal); Moradabad West, Morna, Bidhuna and Malihabad (SC) in Uttar Pradesh; Channapatna (Karnataka) and Laitumkhrah (Meghalaya).

The notification will be issued on July 22 and the last date for filing nominations is July 29. The papers will be scrutinised on July 30 and the last date of withdrawal of candidature is August 1. The votes will be counted on August 21.

The EC said the rolls with respect to January 1, 2009 as the qualifying date as per the pre-delimitation order in Tamil Nadu (except in the Srivaikuntam Assembly segment), West Bengal and U.P. were revised and published. For Srivaikuntam and Laitumkhrah, the rolls will be published on July 20 and July 22 respectively. In Karnataka, the present Assembly was constituted on the basis of the new delimitation order.