Special Correspondent

Quota in direct recruitment to benefit more

NEW DELHI: Union Cabinet on Friday approved inclusion and modification of certain castes and communities in the Central list of Other Backward Classes (OBCs).

The new communities, which have been included, are located in Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Delhi, Goa, Gujarat, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Orissa, Pondicherry and Uttar Pradesh, Defence Minister Pranab Mukherjee told reporters after the Cabinet meeting.

The new additions, which do not belong to the creamy layer, would get the benefit of reservation in direct recruitment in Civil Services and posts under the Central government, he said.

The eligible persons could also secure financial assistance from the National Backward Classes Finance and Development Corporation for skill development.

The new castes and communities included in the Central list of OBCs are: `Sikligar' and `Siddula' in AP, `Bakho (Muslim)' and `Thakurai (Muslim)' in Bihar, `Rai-Sikh (Mahtam)' in Delhi, `Bhandari-Naik' in Goa, `Dhangar' as synonym of Bharwad and Jagri, Khavas and Sagar castes/ communities of Gujarat.

They also include `Aryakshatriya' and `Sarige' as synonyms of Somavamsha Arya Kshatriya and `Hindu Sadaru' castes/communities of Karnataka, Twashta Kasar, Kansar as synonym of `Tambat', `Kurmi' as synonym of Kunbi and `Yellam/Yelam' castes in Maharashtra. In Orissa, `asini patara/aswini' and `aswini patara' as sub-castes of Patara, `rangini hansi' as sub-castes of Hansi/Tanti, `Kapala Velama, Kapulu Elama, Koppala Elama, Kappula Elama, Kupala Elama, Kapala Elama, Kapala Elaga, Koppala Velama and Tamuli have been included in the OBC list. `Barai' and `Chaurasia' as synonyms of Tamoli, `Kurmi-Sainthwar' and `Kurmi-Mall' as sub-castes of Kurmi and Unai Sahu have also found place in the list.