NEW DELHI: The Congress has won 206 seats in the Lok Sabha elections and its allies 55 in the results for the 542 seats officially declared on Sunday.

The Trinamool Congress has emerged as the largest ally of the Congress, bagging 19 seats, followed by the DMK (18), the NCP (9), the National Conference (3), the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha and Muslim League (two each) and the Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi and Kerala Congress(M) (one each).

The UPA now has 261 seats and needs the support of 11 more members to get a majority of 272.

The BJP has won 116 seats and its NDA allies have notched up 43. The result for Chandauli in Uttar Pradesh is yet to be declared. The JD(U) has secured 20, followed by the Shiv Sena (11), the RLD (5), the Akali Dal (4), the TRS (2) and the AGP (1). The NDA has a total of 159.

The Third Front ended with 78 seats. The BSP has emerged as the largest party with 21 seats. The CPI(M) has bagged 16 seats, the BJD (14), the AIADMK (9), the TDP (6), the CPI (4), the JD(S) (3), the RSP (2), the Forward Bloc (2) and the MDMK (1).

The Fourth Front, comprising the SP, the RJD and the LJP, scrapped together 27 seats. The SP has got 23 seats. While the RJD has won four, the LJP has drawn a blank.

Of the remaining 18 seats, nine were won by Independents.

The All-India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen, the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha, Bahujan Vikas Aaghadi, the Sikkim Democratic Front, the Nagaland Peoples’ Front, the Swabhimani Paksha, the Bodoland People’s Front, the Assam United Democratic Front and the Haryana Janhit Congress (BL) bagged one each. — PTI