Sujay Mehdudia

NEW DELHI: Indian Railways and the Department of Posts on Tuesday signed an agreement to allow the sale of reserved tickets through post offices spread across the country.

The Memorandum of Understating was signed by A.K. Goyal, Additional Member (Commercial), Railway Board, and S. Samant, Chief General Manager, Department of Posts in the presence of Railway Minister Lalu Prasad and Minister of Communication and Information Technology A. Raja at Rail Bhavan.

Mr. Prasad said this was the joint endeavour of his Ministry and the Ministry of Communications and IT for the benefit of the people, especially for those living in remote areas.

Mr. Prasad said that in future the facility of issuing e-tickets would also be provided at mutually agreed locations.

He said that in the first phase, reserved tickets would be available at: Phulbani (Orissa); Deoghar (Jharkhand); Auraiya (Uttar Pradesh); Anjaw (Arunachal Pradesh); Bishnupur (Manipur); Champhai (Mizoram); Mangaldoi (Assam); Jowai (Meghalaya); Senapati (Manipur); Udaipur (Tripura); Yingkiong, Daporijo, Bomdila & Along (Arunachal Pradesh); Doda and Poonch (Jammu and Kashmir); Panchkula (Haryana); Sundergarh (Orissa); Madras High Court (Tamil Nadu); Ahwa (Gujarat); Noida Sector 56 P.O. (Uttar Pradesh); Udyog Vihar P.O. Gurgaon (Haryana); Dahisar, Mumbai (Maharashtra); Sriperumbudur (Tamil Nadu); Pushkar (Rajasthan); DLF Gurgaon (Haryana); Dwarka Sector-6 (Delhi); Greater Noida Alpha (Uttar Pradesh); Indirapuram, Shipra Sun city, Noida (Uttar Pradesh); Kavinagar, Ghaziabad (Uttar Pradesh).

The Department of Posts will realise service charge from the passengers in lieu of issuing tickets.