Special Correspondent

NEW DELHI: A total of 14 Indian innovators were on Wednesday awarded the Innovators’ Award instituted by aerospace giant, Lockheed Martin Corporation under its India innovation growth programme.

While seven innovators won the gold medal, the others won the silver medal. The gold medal winners included four innovators from Bangalore — Amarnath Bhat of Oriental Software, Naresh Babu of Techweb Technologies, R.Gopalan of Composites Technology Park and Mahendra Pratap of Integra Microsystems. The other gold medal winners are: Janak Seth of Century Pharmaceuticals of Vadodara, T.R.Rao of Mumbai, and Meera Goel of Som Extracts of Ghaziabad.

The silver medal winners are: W. Amarnath, Chennai, Mohan Kandaswamy of Oriental Aquamarine Biotech India, Coimbatore, Ashwin Bhambri, New Delhi, Joydeb Roy Chowdhury of Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)’s Durgapur-based Centre for Mechanical Engineering Research Institute, Basant Kumar Gupta, Mumbai, Vinod Kalande, Akola, and Nimish Sharma of Aurora Integrated Systems, Kanpur.

Lockheed Martin Corporation had launched the India Innovation Growth Programme in March in collaboration with the Federation of Indian Industry and Commerce and IC Squared Institute at the University of Texas to help Indian innovators take their technologies into the U.S. and European markets. A key feature of the programme is that it provides training to the selected innovators on the various aspects of commercialisation of their technology.