Staff Reporter

NEW DELHI: English fiction writer Anita Desai, Konkani writer Ravindra Kelekar and Punjabi writer Kartar Singh Duggal have been chosen fellows of the Sahitya Akademi. Akademi president Prof. Gopi Chand announced this here.

Prof. R.E. Asher, writer and scholar from the U.K., was chosen honorary fellow in recognition of his contribution to Indian languages and literature. Earlier, the Kerala Sahitya Akademi awarded him a gold medal for his contribution to Malayalam language and literature.

Mussorie-born Ms. Desai had earlier won the Sahitya Akademi Award for her novel Fire on the Mountain and the Padma Shri in 1990.

Kartar Singh won the Padma Bhushan in 1988. His works have been translated into Indian and foreign languages. He has served as Director, All-India Radio.

Mr. Kelekar won the Sahitya Akademi Award for his travelogue Himalayant.