Over 150 legislators to attend interaction programme from Tuesday

print   ·   T  T  
Ready for session: Siddhananja Deshikendra Mangala Mantapa in Suttur near Mysore decked up for the ‘Interaction Programme for Legislators’
Ready for session: Siddhananja Deshikendra Mangala Mantapa in Suttur near Mysore decked up for the ‘Interaction Programme for Legislators’

Staff Correspondent

The three-day event will educate them on their responsibilities

MYSORE: Over 150 elected representatives from the Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council will attend a three-day “Interaction Programme for Legislators” organised by JSS Suttur Math from Tuesday.

The programme was envisaged following a suggestion by Sri Siddeshwara Swamiji of Bijapurthat there was a need to hold a workshop for elected representatives. The suggestion was welcomed by JSS seer Shivarathri Deshikendra Swamiji, who agreed to host the event at Suttur village.

The programme will be held at JSS Suttur Math on the banks of the Kapila.

It will educate the elected representatives on their responsibilities, their role in rural development and in fighting against corruption.

Personalities including Magsaysay Award winners Anna Hazare and Prakash Amte will participate and guide the legislators on the importance of nation building. Siddhananja Deshikendra Mangala Mantapa where the programme will be held has been decked up.

According to workshop coordinator and writer Go. Ru. Channabasappa, the math felt that it would be highly useful to conduct a camp for the benefit of elected representatives. Speaking to press persons, who visited Suttur on Sunday to get a feel of the preparations made for the programme, Mr. Channabasappa said that 104 members of the Assembly and Council, including seven women, had confirmed their participation.

Founder of ISHA Foundation Sri Sadguru Jaggi Vasudev will inaugurate the workshop on Tuesday and former Chief Minister H.D. Kumaraswamy will preside over it. Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Council V.S. Ugrappa will be the chief guest. Prof. S.H. Patel, Dr. Prabhushankar and Dr. D. Veerendra Heggade will deliver lectures on “Constitution-common man and people’s representatives”, “Literature and social concerns” and “Religious institutions and rural development” respectively.

Noted flautist Praveen Godkhindi will give a bansuri recital.

On Wednesday, Ms. Hazare, Dr. Kirti Parikh, Dr. Amte, Prof. J.S. Kiran will deliver lectures on “Public service and honesty”, “Planning and human development”, “Voluntary organisations-vulnerable section” and “Time and stress management” respectively. Well-known Hindustani vocalist M. Venkatesha Kumar will render vachanas.

On Thursday, the former Chairman of Karnataka Legislative Council B.K. Chandrashekar and Justice Shivaraja V. Patil (Retd) will be speaking on “Legislature and proceedings” and “Legislators and social commitments respectively”.

Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa will be delivering the valedictory address and Leader of Opposition in the Assembly Mallikarjun Kharge will be the chief guest. Chairman of Karnataka Legislative Council Veeranna Mattikatti will preside over the valedictory function.



Recent Article in NATIONAL


Katrina joins Twitter for Cannes debut

Bollywood actor Katrina Kaif has joined micro-blogging site Twitter to pro... »