Vohra considering resignations

print   ·   T  T  
N.N. Vohra
N.N. Vohra

Shujaat Bukhari

SRINAGAR: All eight members of the Shri Amarnathji Shrine Board (SASB) have submitted their resignations to Jammu and Kashmir Governor N.N. Vohra, who is also the chairman of the Board.

“The resignations are under the active consideration of the Governor,” said a spokesman of the SASB on Wednesday. Informed sources said this step would pave the way for reconstitution of the Board that might assuage the feelings of a section of those agitating over the land transfer row.

The members who have resigned are: Justice (retd.) G.D. Sharma, Professor Vishnu Murti Shastri, Sunil Sachdeva, Manoj Gaur, Dr. Vimla Dhar, Professor Neerja Mattoo, Raghu Modi and Dr. Arun Kumar.

A remark by Dr. Kumar, who was the Chief Executive Officer of the Board, that the land was transferred permanently to the Board triggered the controversy. He was later removed and attached to the General Administration Department.

The Governor, in his meeting with the Shri Amarnathji Yatra Sangarsh Samiti, which is spearheading the agitation, had mentioned that the induction of eminent persons from the Jammu and Kashmir regions would inspire confidence in the functioning of the Board.

Mr. Vohra said on Tuesday that he was not averse to quitting the chairmanship if people were satisfied with that.



Recent Article in NATIONAL

AIPMT cheating: SC refuses re-examination

Court declines to order re-examination »