The Education Department has given orders to district panchayats to begin works on school buildings as part of the upgrade of 60 upper primary schools to high schools. Schools in Kasaragod, Wayanad, Palakkad, and Idukki will be upgraded under the Rashtriya Madhyamik Shiksha Abhiyan sponsored by the Union government. Classes have begun in all the 36 high schools which were sanctioned by the government for the academic year 2010-11.The Department of Education has sanctioned a sum of Rs.45 for each school. — Staff Reporter