Bhopal: Five RPF personnel — TI Vivek Sharma, ASI S.K. Sharma and three constables — were placed under suspension in connection with the assault on the BJP member of Parliament Virendra Kumar Khatik.

The MP from Sagar was beaten up on Friday during an anti-encroachment drive near the Bina railway station. He was hit by the RPF personnel while protesting against removal of encroachments in the Chhoti Bajaria area, the police said.

Mr. Khatik, who suffered injuries in the head, back and a finger, was admitted to the Hamidia Hospital. Dr. D.K. Verma said there were 10 stitches on his head.

Director-General of Police S.K. Raut has asked Railway IG Mohan Rao to conduct an inquiry into the incident and submit a report within 3 days.

Divisional Railway Manager of Bhopal Pradeep Agarwal said an inquiry was being conducted by the RPF IG and action would be initiated against the guilty only after its completion.

On a complaint by the MP’s representative Gopichand Dasani, an attempt to murder case has been registered against the RPF police station in-charge S.S. Badgujar, RPF Commandant Sarika Mohan, TI Vivek Sharma and four RPF constables. — PTI