Ministers Nagendra Singh Nagod, Ranjana Baghel missing from list

The BJP declared candidates for 147 Assembly seats in Madhya Pradesh on Thursday. The announcement was made in New Delhi.

The list, which mainly covers seats over which there is minimal dispute within the party, includes 37 new faces and 77 sitting MLAs. A total of 18 woman candidates also find place on the list.

The Cabinet Ministers missing from the list are Nagendra Singh Nagod and Ranjana Baghel. Baghel had won by a slender margin of 2,034 votes in 2008. Interestingly, the list has changed constituencies of Ministers Ramkrishna Kusmariya and Anup Mishra. Party sources claimed that both wanted to shift due to anti-incumbency in their current constituencies.

The BJP has decided to field its first Muslim candidate in 15 years, former Union Minister Arif Beg from Bhopal (North). It is the seat of the State’s only Muslim MLA, Arif Aqeel of the Congress. The party has also decided to field Shardendu Tiwari against Opposition Leader Ajay Singh. Mr. Tiwari, formerly of the Gondwana Gantantra Party, is the son of former Chief Information Commissioner P.P. Tiwari. He had contested against Mr. Singh in 2008 and came third.


Former Chief Minister Uma Bharti’s supporters have been sidelined, with only one of the five MLAs of her former party, Bharatiya Janshakti, having been re-nominated. Her party had reunited with the BJP in 2011.

Joins Congress

Meanwhile, BJP MLA Devendra Patel from Silwani joined the Congress along with his supporters. “I quit because there is no respect for Lodhis or Kurmis (both other backward castes) in the BJP. The party is corrupt and humiliates honest leaders like Umaji (a Lodh),” he said.

Congress leader Ajay Singh, however, said that those who join the party at the last minute will not be fielded.

The BJP has not fielded BSP defector Paras Ram Mudgal from the Morena seat, which he currently holds. It has not announced the candidate for Bhind, which is represented by Congress defector Rakesh Chaturvedi. Former Congress Minister and Independent MLA from Maharajpur, Manavendra Singh is being fielded from the same seat.

Filing of nominations for the Assembly polls starts on November 1.

  • First BJP Muslim candidate in 15 years, former Union Minister Arif Beg, to be fielded from Bhopal North

  • BJP MLA Devendra Patel from Silwani joins Congress along with his supporters