Governing council members to the four Agro Engineering and Service Cooperative Centres functioning in the district were selected unopposed. The elections were scheduled for last Friday.

Each of the governing councils in the said four centres located at Avinashi, Kanakkamplayam, Udumalpet and Palladam have seven members which include a Scheduled Caste/ Scheduled Tribe member, two women and four general members.

Members who have now been selected to the governing councils would be electing a president and vice-president for the respective Centres.

The elections to the governing councils were held 12 years after the tenure of the last council ended in 2001, official sources told The Hindu .

Since the expiry of the tenure of the councils, the block-level Assistant Directors of Agriculture in the respective areas had been functioning as special officers to run these centres.

There were two more centres at Dharapuram and Vellakoil in the district, but were liquidated recently.

Agriculture department sources said that the Centres, which were created in the early 1970s, play a paramount role in farm activities by helping the government implement various schemes at the ground level.