Mr. Khandubhai Desai, Union Minister for Labour, was on March 16 defeated by Mr. Indulal Yagnik, President of the Maha Gujarat Janata Parishad, from the Ahmedabad double-member Parliamentary constituency. He is the first Union Cabinet Minister to lose in the present elections. Mr. Indulal Yagnik defeated his Congress rival by a margin of over 1,27,500 votes in a straight contest. Mr. Minoo Masani, the well-known writer, got elected from the Ranchi East constituency in Bihar, standing on the Jharkhand Party ticket.