General Ne Win was elected Prime Minister of Burma on February 27 by the Chamber of Deputies. His nomination was supported by U Ba Swe’s Anti-Fascist Peoples’ Freedom League faction, U Nu’s ‘Clean’ AFPFL and the Justice Party. The Chamber of Deputies had paved the way for the election of Ne Win as the Prime Minister by amending the Constitution to enable a non-member of the Parliament to remain in office beyond six months without seeking election to the Parliament.