With effect from January 1, 1960, all yellow nickel-brass one-anna coins and yellow nickel-brass half-anna coins will cease to be legal tender when the demonetisation order of the Government of India comes into effect.

These coins will, however, continue to be accepted for the next six months till June 30, 1960, at all offices of the Reserve Bank of India, at all agency banks of the Reserve Bank conducting Government business and at all Government treasuries and sub-treasuries. During this period, they will also be accepted by Railway offices and Post Offices in payment of dues.