(There being no issue of the paper dated January 27)

The President has made the following awards which have been published in the Gazette of India Extraordinary issued on January 25: Padma Vibhushan: Dr. Syed Fazl Ali, Smt. Janakibai Bajaj and Mr. C.M. Trivedi. Padma Bhushan: Mr. Kasturi Srinivasan, Editor, The Hindu, Mr. M.S. Thirumale Ayyangar, Smt. Rukmini Devi Arundale, Mr. Rajshekhar Bose, Major Dhyan Chand, Col. C.K. Nayudu, Mr. Kunwar Sain, Dr. Muthulakshmi Reddy, Smt. Mahadevi Verma, Dr. T.S. Venkataraman, Mr. Bhai Vir Singh, Nawab Zain Yar Jung and Smt. Pushpavathi Mehta. Padmashri: Dr. Suryakumar Bhujar, Dr. Satish Chandra Mazumdar, Dr. Murugappa Chennaveerappa Modi, Dr. Mohanlal, Mr. Sukhdev Pande, Dr. Chintaman Govind Pandit, Mr. Sthanam Narasimha Rao, Dr. Isaac Santra and Dr. Sohan Singh of Amritsar. The President's awards on Republic Day this year conform to the tradition of the previous years. As in previous years, women have received recognition and as many as five women figure in the awards. The new features are the inclusion of sportsmen and a journalist. Science is represented by Dr. Venkataraman, sugar technologist, and Dr. C.G. Pandit. As in previous years, very few administrators are included in the list.