Thirty-one Congress candidates have come out successful, one of them unopposed, in the elections to the Lok Sabha from Madras State for the 41 seats allotted to the State from 34 constituencies, seven of which are double-member. The remaining 10 seats have gone to other parties CRC and Communists two each, the Forward Bloc, the Socialists and the DMK party one each, and Independents three.